Committee Report Form | YSU

COVER SHEET TO BE ATTACHED TO ALL REPORTS SUBMITTED TO THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Date 4/14/23 Senate Meeting Date 4/26/23 Report # (Senate Use Only)

Intended Action: Informational_X_ Senate Vote ___ Consultative/Advisory___

Name of Committee Submitting Report: Academic Events

Committee Status: (elected chartered, appointed chartered, ad hoc, etc.)

Appointed Chartered

Names of Committee Members

Elected Members

Appointed Members

Katherine Garlick, CCCA (Chair) Peter Reday, WCBA Robert Korenic, CSTEM Radar Riegel, Student Jackie LeViseur, Admin. Amy Cossentino, Admin. Joy Byers, Admin Cara Carramusa, BCHHS

Carrie Jackson, BCLASSE

Please write a brief summary of the report the Committee is submitting to the Senate:

Academic Events would like to forward the following recommendations for the 23-24 Academic year.

Macebearer Nominations for 23-24

BCLASSE

- Dr. Timothy Francisco English
- Dr. Richard W. VanVoorhis Counseling, School Psychology & Educational Leadership

WCBA

• Dr. Pete Woodlock - Accounting

BCHHS

- Dr. Patty Hoyson Nursing
- Dr. Kenneth Learman, PT, PhD- Physical Therapy

STEM

• Dr. Donald Priour - Physics, Astronomy, Geology, & Environmental Sciences

CLIFFE

- Dr. Misook Yun Music
- Michelle Nelson Art

Commencement Speaker Nominations for 23-24

Pat Kerrigan, Executive Director of Oak Hill Collaborative, is a former Youngstown Municipal Judge, former President of St. Patrick's Parish Council, former Vice-Chair of Youngstown Urban League, a member of Leadership Youngstown, ACTION, and Mahoning County ADAS Board and is active in numerous other community organizations.

Nelda Sims graduated from Youngstown City Schools, then went on to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Education. She graduated from YSU Cum Laude in 1998 and later went on to become a special education teacher and earn a Master of Education. She became the only black female high school principal in Howard County Public School System, one of the top performing school systems in the USA. Nelda eventually retired from the school system in 2020 and became an author. She is one of ten authors in a book titled "Discovering Strength, Hidden In Sight – An Educators Perspective". Her chapter, "Unlimited Possibilities" shares her journey as an educator. In honor of her parents, she also established the TJ and Annie Ruth Rushton Legacy Scholarship, awarded to minority students at Youngstown State University majoring in Education. New, Nelda is a travel agent and enjoys traveling and spending time with her family and friends. Her goal in life is to be a positive role model, encourage, inspire, and motivate others.

Suzanne Barbati - As YSU Alumna from 1995, she served as the President and Executive Director of the OH WOW! The Rodger & Gloria Jones Children's Center for Science and

Technology for 14 years, before taking on the role as their Director of Planned Giving in 2021 until her retirement this March. An active leader in the Youngstown community, Ms. Barbati was instrumental in developing OH WOW! into the landmark institution it is today, which serves children and families across the entire Mahoning Valley.

Bonnie Deutsch Burdman, an attorney, has served the Youngstown Area Jewish Federation as Director, and now Executive Director of Community Relations/Government Affairs for the past 26 years. In this capacity, Bonnie leads the Federation's interfaith and inter-group activities, as well as its social action agenda. She directs the Federation's efforts to combat antisemitism, to promote strong support for Israel, and to encourage broad-based Holocaust and antigenocide education. Bonnie also maintains strong relationships with public officials locally, in Columbus, and nationally in support of issues of importance to the Jewish community, and currently oversees the Federation's security work.

Phil Hirsch - Formerly at YSU as the Executive Director of Administrative Services but is better known to most people as the long-time Director of Kilcawley Center. After retiring from YSU, he took a leadership position on the YSURA Board. Dr. Hirsch has a lasting and notable legacy of service to the University, including the Hirsch-Satrum Leadership Scholarship.

Carla J. Baldwin, lifelong resident of the Mahoning Valley. She presently serves as the Administrative and Presiding Judge of Youngstown Municipal Court, and was the first African-American female elected as a judge in Mahoning County history. Prior to this appointment she worked for the Mahoning County Prosecutor's Office for eight years serving as an Assistant County Prosecutor in both the Criminal and Juvenile Divisions. Judge Baldwin served on numerous boards which serve the greater community of the Valley.

John Paul Vincent "Sonny" Vaccaro is a former sports marketing executive. Vaccaro is best known for his tenure with Nike, Inc., where he signed Michael Jordan to his first sneaker deal. Vaccaro left Nike for Adidas, then Reebok. He founded the ABCD Camp, an elite showcase of high school basketball standouts, which ran from 1984 to 2007. It featured future stars Kobe Bryant, Dwight Howard, and LeBron James. Vaccaro cofounded the first national high school All-Star game, The Dapper Dan Roundball Classic, with concert promoter and boyhood friend Pat DiCesare in Pittsburgh in 1965. The game endured for 43 years and its alumni includes such greats as Calvin Murphy, Shaquille O'Neal, Kobe Bryant, Chris Webber, Alonzo Mourning, Kevin Garnett, Vince Carter, Tracy McGrady, Patrick Ewing, Rasheed Wallace and Stephon Marbury. Vacarro's story will be featured in the upcoming film "Air," where he will be portrayed by Matt Damon.

Austin Pendleton - Warren native, is an American actor, playwright, theatre director and instructor. Pendleton received a Tony Award nomination for Best Direction of a Play for the Broadway revival of The Little Foxes in 1981. He has received two Drama Desk Award nominations and the recipient of a Special Drama Desk Award in 2007. He also received a Obie Award for Best Director for the 2011 off-Broadway revival of Three Sisters. His 6-decade spanning career also includes work in film (Short Circuit, My Cousin Vinny, Amistad, et al), television (Oz, Homicide:Life on the Street), and new media. His role in A Beautiful Mind earned him a Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture nomination

Bob DiPiero, of Youngstown, is a Dana alum and notable country music songwriter He has written 15 US number one hits and several Top 20 singles for Tim McGraw, Reba McEntire,

Faith Hill, Shenandoah, Brooks & Dunn, George Strait, Martina McBride, Trace Adkins, Travis Tritt, and many others. He has been recognized on the Nashville Walk of Fame and is a Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee.

If substantive changes in your committee recommendation are made from the floor, would the committee prefer that the matter be sent back to committee for further consideration?

Introduction and Rationale

Type introduction and rationale here.

Revised Policy/Policies (when applicable)

Type revised policy here

Recommendation

Type recommendation here.